I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

What about my rights?
Thursday, May. 31, 2007 12:01 PM

"I've always found paranoia to be a perfectly defensible position." - Pat Conroy

So, my bad day last week didn't end very well. I ended up running out of gas right in the middle of a busy intersection. I'm looking at it positively, though. It taught me a lesson. Always fill up your gas tank once the light goes off no matter what.

I've been reading more in depth into my book, The Boundaries of Her Body: The Troubling History of Women's Rights in America. A lot of this is common sense, especially if you pay attention to what's been going on over the years. I'm reading this and I am wondering why in the world I was born during a time period where women obviously have more freedom and rights than they have ever had in all of history. I'm also becoming quite grateful for that fact. However, I'm also becoming quite pissed off at how women were treated in the past, and how they're still being treated today.

On top of that, I'm becoming extremely upset with the Bush Administration. I all ready dislike the current president, but I think his administration is closed minded and fanatically religious. Because of this, they are attempting to take away valued rights from various citizens based on their religious beliefs. How is that constitutional? It makes me want to become a voice for the people. The only problem is, how does one become a powerful enough voice to create change in this world? And how can change happen when there are so many people out there not willing to listen to reason?

I am no longer a religious person, although I grew up following Catholicism to the extreme. Today, I prefer to see myself as a spiritual person. I still believe in an omnipotent being. I believe that there is life after death here on earth. I just don't believe in man made religion and how it has turned into a political system of power used to control and manipulate people for the good of those in power.

One of the things that upsets me right now is the fact that you have to be married in order to receive tax benefits. I find this highly unjust. Marriage is a religious sacrament, and yet it is used to justify benefits on the governmental level. Who gave the government the right to tell people like me that they have to pay higher taxes just because they are not married? How is that fair? The excuse I hear from people I've asked about this is, "Well, they assume that people who are married need the money more than a single person." How is that so? Now days, these couples bring in two incomes. Not one. And until they produce offspring, they shouldn't get any special tax benefits just for tying the knot.

I honestly don't want to get married now. If I were to marry someone someday, all I would be doing is conforming to society's ideals on the sanctity of marriage. I don't want to be a conformist. It's a religious viewpoint that has become a political one, and it's sole purpose in religion was to opress the woman and her female children.

I'd go on more about this but I need to get to work. I may add to it later if I have time.

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss