I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

Sabrina's Accident
Monday, Mar. 10, 2008 7:05 PM

"Everyone who got to where they are
had to begin where they were." - Richard Paul Evans

Two weeks ago a young couple was driving down Highway 50 north of Halstead when an elderly couple pulled out in front of them. The end result was worse than I could imagine. I knew about it right after it happened, but I had no idea it was them.

The young couple was my best friend Sabrina, her husband Stephen, and their 18 mos old daughter Sabella. They had just dropped their two boys off at Sabrina's brother's house and were on their way to the dentist when it happened.

Sabella ended up with a red mark on her neck from the child restraint but other than that she's okay. The worst to happen to Sabrina is that she's extremely sore and definitely suffering from PTSD. And as for Stephen? He got the worst of it. The accident broke his left heel, dislocated his right shoulder, and tore off his bottom lip. Something also happened to his chin, but I can't remember exactly what. All I know is that he had to have plastic surgery right away and has over 75 stitches just on the outside of his mouth. They told me he also has a bunch inside his mouth as well. He'll be confined to a wheelchair for 3 mos. since he can't use crutches due to his dislocated shoulder.

When I first heard about it, all I could think was, "God, I hope I don't know the young people in the accident." And then what happens? It turns out to be my best friend of 16 years. Thank God they're alive. That's all I'm saying. With the way the car looked after the accident, it's a miracle they survived. Once again, Thank God they did.

As for the elderly couple? They were killed instantly. From what I know, they weren't from Halstead. They were just visiting. The impact wasn't painful for them, and they didn't suffer. Still, it brings home the fact that life is fleeting, and you never know when your time is or how it's going to come about.

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss