I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

Kent
Saturday, May. 24, 2008 6:54 AM

"Most of our obstacles would melt away if, instead of cowering before them,
we should make up our minds to walk boldly through them." - Orison Swett Marden

I just spent 10.5 hours driving around Kansas with Kent. I went to pick him up at his house last night around 8 PM. We headed east because so many storms were out west. We ended up driving all over the north eastern part of the state. We drove around Manhattan, made it through Topeka, and headed on into Lawrence where we drove all over the KU campus. Then we headed back towards home only to stop off in Emporia for a tad bit. I had to take him by my old apartments, the dorms I lived in, and my old hunting grounds.

I couldn't believe it when we drove through Emporia. Bruffs, one of the main bars in town, had burnt down, Club 707 had turned into a shoe store, and all the little pubs surrounding those two bars had shut down. What the hell? It's a college town. How can these things close up shop like that? Did the bars relocate themselves? Who knows? It was just a trip down memory lane for a little bit.

The best part about the night is that we never stalled in our conversation. We just kept talking and talking and talking. We had a few moments of silence but they were very comfortable moments. He kept complimenting me the entire night, and I have to admit it made me feel giddy inside. We're just friends, but I kept wanting to reach out and just touch him. I'm not afraid this is going to happen, but I think within time we're going to get to that point. We may never have a relationship that's beyond friendship, but I think we're going to touch eventually.

When I dropped him off at 6:30 we stood there and talked for awhile in his drive-way. I had a feeling he wanted to hug me good-bye but wasn't sure if he should. Maybe he read it in me too? I don't know. I wanted to hug him good-bye. The more time we spend talking to each other and hanging out, the more I want to do just that.

Even his son likes me. Lil Kent *as I call him* adores me. He's always asking about me and wanting to hang out with me. He'll even get on Kent's messenger while I'm at work and have conversations with me about his school day. I think it's so adorable. Kent told me he's telling everybody that I'm his dad's girlfriend. I can't help but get a delightful giggle over that. I really like Lil Kent. He's something special.

Perhaps the most ironic thing going on between the two of us right now is that we tend to finish each other's sentences. Sometimes we even say the same thing at the exact same time. It's like we're reading each other's minds or something. He made the comment that we're like twins except we can't be long lost twins only because he's 2 years older than me. It sometimes feels like I'm hanging out with myself, but I don't mind that. I like myself.

Before he went inside he was telling me about how curious his mom is about me. She'll peek over his shoulder and try to hone in on his chatting with me. I have a picture of myself up on yahoo and he says he likes to tease her by not letting her see it, only because she's so nosey about it. I said, "if she saw it, she'd probably think I was either mad or in a grumpy mood." He said the sweetest things... he said, "It's the perfect picture. It captures your face just right. I think it's a beautiful picture of you." And funnily enough, I was able to take a compliment from him. I normally can't take compliments from anybody, but I took this one just fine. I even said thank you. I probably blushed a little bit, but that's my nature.

Anyhow, I'm not sure where we're headed, but I know he's meant to be in my life right now. Or maybe I'm meant to be in his. Or maybe it's both. We both agree that it just feels right. And I'm very happy about that.

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss