I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

Canada, oh, sweet Canada.
Monday, Aug. 11, 2008 10:23 PM

"I think I've discovered the secret of life - you just hang around until you get used to it." - Charles M. Schulz

Well, I'm back from Canada. I didn't see any moose, even though I hollered out the window, "Here, Moose Moose. Here bully bully... Where are you Bullwinkle?" And we didn't get to go on any whale boat rides, but that's okay. If the water was going to be that choppy, I don't really think I'd want to get onto a boat and blow chunks all afternoon.

We flew into Montreal first. Since we had a bit of a layover, my dad had us rent a taxi and we drove it all over the town checking out various sites. We visited St. Joseph's Cathedral, Notre Dame, the downtown district and all sorts of places. We actually covered a lot of ground for only being there for a few hours. When we left Montreal, I knew very little French. And I've already forgotten what I learned.

We flew out of Montreal to Sydney, Nova Scotia. We spent one night there in the Cambridge Suites. It was definitely sweet. My room looked out onto the ocean. We ate breakfast at the famous Tim Horton's where I got my family addicted to Tim Bits. Never in my life have I tasted so many doughnut holes with various flavorings. It was absolutely amazing.

We left Sydney and headed for Ingonish where we stayed at the Keltic Lodge for the next 7 days. The food was delicious, the entertainment was awesome, and the weather was beautiful. The people who worked there were absolutely friendly. I made a good friend named Susan who is the same age as me. We plan on e-mailing each other and keeping in touch. I had the best time ever. It was so relaxing. If they didn't have such horrible weather in the wintertime, I'd almost move up there to live. The place was so laid back compared to the states and everybody was extremely friendly. I love CANADA. And I love Canadians.

Two events that happened while I was there: 1. A moose was found running through the town (much like deer do down here). The city couldn't tranquilize it and send it back to the wild because of some reason I can't remember. Anyhow, the moose ran to the airport and was about to cause a big disturbance so they had to put it down. I thought that was SO sad. And 2. Some young adult about 21 or 22 was beheaded on a bus heading from Edmonton to Manitoba. This completely disturbed me, especially since I see Canadians as such a calm peaceful set of people.

We drove back to Sydney on Sunday and spent the night at the Cambridge Suites again. We flew out of Sydney for Halifax around 8 AM and landed in Halifax about 9 or so. We had a layover there, as well. We chose not to take a taxi ride around the town because all of us were extremely tired already... but we should have. After talking to a random lady named Carol from Boston, I boarded the plane with my family only to find out there was a mechanical problem with the plane. They had everybody get off. Then we all sat around the airport for hours waiting to find out if we could get another flight out of there only to find out that Northwestern decided to put us up in a hotel room at the Holiday Garden Inn for the night instead and rebook everybody's flights. Luckily we got on a flight the next day, but it was a horrible day having to spend an entire day in the airport like that.

There was one lady who was in a wheelchair and NW airlines left her there unattended. My family waited around for her family to show up to pick her up. I ended up sitting next to her on the plane ride to Detroit. Nobody helped her buckle in. Nobody helped unbuckle her. They seated us in the very back of the plane and she can't walk! I felt so bad for her. She was an extremely sweet lady. Geri was her name. I buckled her in, buckled her out and helped her down the aisle. I hope she made it home okay.

I'll tell you this much... I'll visit Canada again. I love their money. I love their people. I love their culture. But I will never ever fly Northwestern again. Ever! Then again, that's just me.

Anyhow, I'm home now. Time to catch up at work and hope my life at home doesn't stress me out too much.

A wedding date has been set. February 28th. That's my deceased grandpa's birthday. I picked the date. Now it's time for the fun stuff like getting a wedding dress and picking out invitations and stuff. YAY me!!!!!

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss