I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

Talk about drama......
Wednesday, Mar. 18, 2009 4:09 PM

"The drama of life begins with a wail and ends with a sigh." - Minna Antrim

Now that I've become a stepmother, I'm starting to experience what its like to deal with the stepchild's other family. Most stepparents have problems with the child's biological mother. In this case, I don't. I have a problem with the child's aunt.

The other night while JR was on the phone with his cousin (a 12 year old boy), his aunt was extremely drunk. She was cussing and hollering up a storm on the other end so loud that even Kent and I could hear it. Halfway through the phone call, JR's aunt grabbed the phone and hit his cousin with it on the head. And from what I understand, when he started to bawl, she grabbed his pants and yanked them down. She then proceeded to tease him.

Kent grabbed the phone and asked JR's cousin if he was okay. His cousin said no... so Kent hung up the phone and called the cops. He called them because H was drunk. He called them because H hit D on the head with a phone. He called them because H was teasing D inappropriately. Yet, when the cops arrived and called us back for a statement, H started cussing Kent out for interfering and causing problems.

I guess the cops have been called over there more than once by the neighbors because of yelling and other stuff going on. However, there wasn't much the cop could do since D decided to lie for his mom and say nothing happened. Social Services was notified and they're keeping an eye on the situation. H has to clean up her house before they arrive because the living conditions of her home are severely bad.

Anyhow, after the cop left their house, H called our house up and got a hold of JR. Kent was in the bathroom and I wasn't near the phone. JR put the phone on speaker so I heard the entire conversation. Basically, H was nagging JR for his dad's actions, and then told JR that his dad was a "fucking piece of shit." By the time that came out of her mouth, Kent was out the bathroom. He grabbed the phone from JR, said, "That's enough of that!" then hung up the phone. We ended up blocking their number because H was just going to keep calling the house all night.

Now that she's had time to sober up, I'm not sure I want JR around her. Ever! I know I don't want my future children exposed to this side of JR's family. I know I can't keep JR from his family, but I feel I have the right to decide when and if he gets to see them. The circumstances must be right. I don't want him going over to H's house. If he wants to spend time with his cousins, I'll pick them up and bring them to our house or we'll meet them in a public place. If they argue with me, I'll just look at them and say, "Look, I'm the one sheltering, feeding, clothing and loving JR. I'm the one who helps him with his homework. I'm the one who asks him about his day, who gives him advice...." That makes me more his parent than any of them even if we're not blood related.

I just hope things settle down because I can't stand this much drama in my life. And I feel so bad for JR and any child who is exposed to this kind of lifestyle. It makes me sad. And it definitely makes me sick.

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss