I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

Autopilot anyone?
Thursday, Oct. 13, 2011 3:07 PM

�As we do at such times I turned on my automatic pilot and went through the motions of normalcy on the outside, so that I could concentrate all my powers on surviving the near-mortal wound inside.� - Sonia Johnson

Do we, as human beings, spend most of our lives on automatic pilot? Driving to work today, I realized that I always take the same route to get here. It never differs. I do the same thing driving home. And I also realized that a lot of the times, I'll find myself pulling into the parking lot not remembering any of the drive.

I wonder if that's how I'm living my life. Sure, I have memories. If I think about them long and hard enough, I'll remember most of them. But over time, they've become foggy and distant. Sometimes, they feel as if they happened to somebody else. Even yesterday is a bit of a blur to me. That's why I wonder if I'm living my life on autopilot.

Am I just going through the motions, day after day, until it's my time to die? It feels like it. Wake up, take a shower, brush my teeth, drive to work, do my work, drive home, eat dinner, watch TV, go to bed, then repeat. How boring can life get?

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss