I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

An Actual Life
Tuesday, Mar. 12, 2013 12:09 AM

"I love making people laugh. It's an addiction and it's probably dysfunctional, but I am addicted to it and there's no greater pleasure for me than sitting in a theater and feeling a lot of people losing control of themselves." - Jay Roach

I have lost all desire to play World of Warcraft. I log on and it's like, "what am I doing here? There's nothing worth doing." The game has gone downhill and has lost a lot of it's appeal. I think I may delete my account. I'll give it a month. If I don't log on and actually play within one month's time, I'll delete it. I'd stick around for the people, but everybody I want to keep in touch with is on my Facebook friends list and we text each other all the time. It's just so boring, and it was an addiction that kept me from living an actual life.

Online is like that. It's addicting. Sadly, this addiction takes you away from the important things - the people in your life that are there in the physical and the physical aspects of your life that are worth experiencing. How many hours did I waste sitting at the computer playing an online fantasy game when I could have been working out, learning how to cook, cuddling up with my cats, spending time with Kent (or my family and offline friends), taking some random course at the university to expand my intelligence, whitewater rafting, hiking, traveling, swimming, biking, and the list goes on?

My mother was the one who actually made me think about this. She said to me the other day, "You spend all day on the computer at work. Why would you want to go home and spend hours more on it?" This made me think. Then I was thinking about how I'm trying to sculpt myself into the person I want to become, and that person doesn't sit at the computer all day. And then, I started to think about how I wish my life was like my parents' lives... and what's the major difference between our lives? They are ACTIVE. They don't spend all day on a computer. They go out and actually do things. They accomplish a lot of living because they actually live.

As for online relationships? They're the worst kind to have. Every single one of them will hit a brick wall. When they hit that brick wall, the two people involved either have to end things and go their separate ways, or someone has to drastically change their life to accommodate the other person. This is why 95% of online relationships do not work. And the lucky 5%? I guarantee you that one of the two individuals in that particular relationship gave up everything to be with the other person. If one of the two aren't willing to do that, then the partnership between the two people is going to only head towards heartbreak. It's a great place to make friends, but if you're looking for love, you're looking mostly in the wrong place (unless you're one of the lucky 5%).

So, like most things in life, I am going to attempt to balance out my online life with my offline life. The ideal percentage would be 30% online and 70% offline. This way, I can still log on and enjoy game time with Gilly, Mike, AJ, Rocky, Sal, Will, Tara, and De. However, I will be spending the majority of time offline. I miss my offline friends. I miss the crazy experiences we used to have. Instead of sitting here dreaming about going whitewater rafting or daydreaming about hiking through the mountains, I want to go do these things. So this is what I'm going to go do.

How to accomplish this? Well, first I need to work more hours to get more money so I have the extra spending cash to enjoy the leisure of vacationing. Once I get enough spending cash, we'll go from there.

Tomorrow: Hair in a headband, up and to work by 10 AM. Work until 6, head to the gym, work out until 7. Calorie intake: 800 or less. Come home, spend time with Mike until midnight.

It's time to start living, people. Wish me luck.

P.S. - Ryan, gonna download yahoo messenger on my new computer at work so start getting on that you goofball. I miss you.

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss