I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

A Nice Weekend
Tuesday, Mar. 19, 2013 2:00 PM

�To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.� ― Oscar Wilde

I just had a really nice weekend. I haven't had a really nice weekend in over a year, but this weekend was.... nice. Very nice. It wasn't wonderful, but it wasn't bad, either. I'm pretty happy with it.

Saturday was spent with Mike. He made me laugh, like he always does. There is something wonderful about being full of laughter. We have the strangest friendship ever, but I wouldn't trade it for the world. He likes to push my buttons so that I am constantly saying, "Michael!" And he seems to love to make fun of my "southern accent." I'm always like, "have you ever heard somebody from the south speak? I do NOT have a southern accent." Then he's always like, "Say wolf." So I say "wolf" and then he just starts laughing because it comes out sounding like "woof." I have no control over that. I try to say wolf, but it's a struggle. At least my mispronunciations of particular words are very amusing - even to myself.

I woke up early on Sunday and made it to my parents house in time for mass. It was a bit ironic that the liturgy for the day was about adultery. Granted, I have not committed adultery in the physical sense, but I suppose I have in the emotional/spiritual sense - which can be much worse because emotions are more intimate than any physical action. I'm not one to think that I've committed a grave sin, though. People need affection. They need to be touched, and they need to know they are wanted or loved. It's human nature, a need we are born with. The liturgy went on to say that she was forgiven for this sin but asked to not repeat it. I spent a good half hour thinking about this message wondering if its a sign to not allow myself to get emotionally involved with people while I am married to Kent. Fate will take care of the future, but for now I am dedicated to the proposition that I am meant to be here to take care of him.

Sunday afternoon I went to lunch with my mom. My dad had to take off out of town. He's gone all week down in Oklahoma playing golf. We then went back to her house and watched the movie Bachelorette - which was okay. That's all I can say about that movie. It was okay. Then I went home, fell asleep on the couch with the softest black blanket in the whole world only to wake up and spend the rest of the evening with Mike and Gilly.

Over the weekend, Kent cut off all his hair. He's now completely bald. He said it's so that when he goes through chemo, he won't have to be depressed when it all starts falling out on its own. I told him, "thankfully you're a guy. You can get away with a bald head." Sad thing is, there are a lot of cruel people out there who say things they shouldn't say to people like Kent. I don't understand why people have to be so mean, but they do. I wonder how much they hate themselves.

It's time to get back to work. I just wanted to say that I actually had a very pleasant weekend since it's been so long since I've experienced anything pleasant.

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss