I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

Rain... Rain... Rain...
Friday, May. 24, 2019 3:33 PM

The only thing that stops God from sending another flood is that the first one was useless. - Chamfort

Another day full of rain. Another hour spent gazing out the window as water trickles slowly down the cold window pane.

I love the smell left behind by rain; the way it washes away all the dirt and grime nestled between old brick or hiding in the cracks of a broken sidewalk. I could gaze outside this window for hours watching my favorite element brighten up my surroundings.

But not today.

Today is just another day much like the day before.

Water puddles blanket the yard, full of mud, turning the clear liquid brown. Stagnant water sits on the side of the streets, backing up out of the sewer system because the rivers and lakes are overflowing.

We need the rain, they said, whoever they are. We need the rain, but not like this. Not every day, pouring down like cats and dogs. When we need it most, it won't be here, because it likes to tease us. It overwhelms us in the spring time and then ignores us all summer.

It destroys our crops, turning the farmland from oceans of wheat into massive lakes. The hail falls down and cracks our windows, dents our cars, and ruins our roofs. Tornadoes crop up and send us flying into our basements, our safe rooms, or hiding in the bathtub of the most inner bathroom. I should be used to all of this by now. After all, it's what happens every spring. I just don't remember it happening this much before.

And it's supposed to keep raining. Tomorrow. And the day after that. And even the day after that.

At least the forecast says Memorial Day will be a dry one.

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

I need strength. - Tuesday, Jul. 16, 2019
The Hunt is On - Tuesday, Jul. 09, 2019
Hold Me Back - Wednesday, Jul. 03, 2019
Faking It Until Making It - Monday, Jul. 01, 2019
The world may never know. - Friday, May. 31, 2019


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss