I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

History could... it really could.
Tuesday, Sept. 22, 2015 4:32 PM

"A single death is a tragedy; a million deaths is a statistic." — Joseph Stalin

I've been reading a lot of memoirs lately of survivors from the Holocaust. Every one of their stories touches me in a way I can't explain. No words could justify my feelings. Their stories are unique; yet at the same time they're the same, having endured the same atrocities. I keep wondering about the Germans who committed these crimes against humanity. Is it truly that simple to lose compassion and turn off one's emotions?

The book I'm currently reading talks about things a few of the other books never mentioned. It details how German Shepherds attacked the prisoners and bit away at their flesh until all that was left was bone... how the German officers would put raw meat on the prisoner and then let the dogs loose. I can't fathom something that horrendous happening to someone around me, let alone myself.

These are crimes against humanity that still take place today in places like North Korea. What's to stop it from happening again to the rest of the world? Are any of us truly safe from another dictator like Hitler or Stalin? I think about this quite often, how easily history could repeat itself.

I was going to write more this entry, but it's now 5 PM and I have places to be. Until next time....

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss