I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

The night before NYC
Wednesday, Mar. 14, 2007 7:09 PM

"Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

Tomorrow morning I will be in flight for NYC. The Jodi Picoult book recently came out and I'm anxious to read it. I just hope that I don't read the entire thing before the plane lands. I can only imagine the boredom I'll be sufferring if I do. I suppose I could always get lost deep inside my thoughts.

Av and I won't be meeting up this weekend. He's down in Florida enjoying his spring break. If my professor had his way I wouldn't even be taking off for NYC right now. I'd be dedicating my life to his program because he doesn't understand that his students have lives. In fact, he doesn't seem to understand that some of us have full time jobs let alone bills to pay. My paycheck has been cut in half because of him.

We have class on Mondays and our assignments are due that Friday. Instead of giving us the weekend to work on it, he demands it done by that Friday. It would be one thing if it was a normal load of class work, but he assigns us a semester's worth of work to complete in a span of four days for two different classes. It has me stressed out because I'm all ready two weeks behind everybody else - two weeks he's holding against me even though he's the one who pushed me to jump right into the program instead of waiting until the fall to start.

I have come to the conclusion that I don't have time to be in a master's program - or - I'm just so dispassionate about the program I'm in, it's time to look into doing something else with my life before I end up hating the man and Sociology completely. I'm sticking out this semester because I feel obligated too. My parents have suggested to me that I drop out of the program, but it's to late to get a refund on their money. I also don't want to let down my classmates, all of whom I've grown very fond of. I know that getting a masters is a lot of work, and I'm willing to put forth the effort. However, I also know that this program is not for me - and it's mostly because of the professor and his expectations. He literally has the entire class confused and frustrated. How he became the head of the department is beyond me, but then most professors I meet aren't good teachers. They're just smart individuals who ended up with a doctorate degree.

If the semester improves any, I may reconsider my decision. If it only continues to become more frustrating and confusing, I'll join the quitters club. I really don't want to put myself through a program that isn't satisfying me in any form what-so-ever.

Anyhow, it's time for me to go finish packing. I will be gone for 4 nights and 5 days. Here's to hoping St. Patty's rocks New York style for me!

Have a wonderful weekend everybody!!

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss