I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

Continuing Davy's Blog
Sunday, Apr. 15, 2007 10:09 PM

"Know, first, who you are; and then adorn yourself accordingly." -Epictetus (55 AD - 135 AD)

God, I feel so sick to my stomach today. I felt like this last night, too. It feels like a mild case of the stomach flu, although, I'm not sure if that's what it is or not. Cory told me to drink some water, but that only made it feel worse. I tried to sweat it out in the shower but my hot water doesn't last as long as I wish it would. And now I feel faint as if my blood sugar is dangerously low even though I've had ice-cream and Dr. Pepper today.

On top of that, Will from Wendy's won't quit calling me. No matter how much I ignore his phone calls, he keeps at it. It's been about two weeks since I've spoken to him; yet, he hasn't gotten the clue that I'm not interested. I'm probably going to have to pick up the phone one of these days and tell him, "Look, you don't respect women. You say the stupidest shit to make yourself look cool. And, believe it or not, I'm not into you. Now bug off!" I just have this feeling that, even if I did do that, he wouldn't get the hint.

I just finished reading Davy's diary entry about obesity. It reminded me about a conversation I had with my baby brother while I was in NYC. Scotty was telling me about how, now that people can't make fun of race, gender, or sexual orientation without consequences, they now make fun of people for their weight. It makes sense to me. If it's not people who are fat, it's people who are way too skinny.

I see it all over the place. They don't make chairs big enough for some people in the movie theaters, on airplanes, or inside restaurants in the booths. If I were a hostess seating people who are a bit larger than the booths permit, I'd make sure to sit them at a table with pull out chairs. I wouldn't even ask them their preference. I'd just do it without calling attention to them. Heck, I'm not the skinniest person in the world and I fit into a booth just fine.. but if I grew outward about another foot, the table would be cutting into my stomach, too. That has got to hurt. Not only would I find it humiliating, but physically painful, too.

I remember when I was on a certain medication and I was a lot larger than what I am now. I had trouble sitting on the airplane in one of those chairs. Fortunately I was seated with my two sisters at the time and Angie let me lift the thing between our seats so it wouldn't be cutting into my sides. My brother is a big man. So is his partner. They get treated badly on those plane rides. When Scotty travels alone, they give him a look like he should have paid for more than one seat alone. It's not like those seats are comfortable to begin with. Hell, the leg room alone is enough to smoosh even the smallest of people.

What I hate the most are women's clothing. In order to be considered the ideal woman, you have to be able to fit into clothes that were made for a woman with a teenager's body. And not just any teenager, mind you, but a teenager who still has the body of a ten year old boy. Even when I was smaller in size, I still felt the pressure to be thinner just because of the fashion industry and the clothes they make for women to wear.

I would go into more depth on this subject, but like I said.. I'm not feeling too hot right now. I'll just end it with this thought: I wonder what people will make fun of once they can't make fun of people for their weight.

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss