I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

Have it your way.
Friday, Nov. 07, 2008 2:37 PM

"I arise in the morning torn between a desire to improve the world and a desire to enjoy the world. This makes it hard to plan the day." - E. B. White

Back at work and into the bump and grind of things. I feel like I'm never going to heal from surgery completely. The swelling is driving me nuts, and I keep feeling this tug and pull on my diaphragm since they had to tear through it. I can't wait for the day when I can put on a pair of jeans again. I'm getting closer to that day... I just wish it was NOW.

Well, Obama's our president elect. I hope we're not taxed too hard. I mean, where is the incentive to make lots of money and do well with your life if the government's just going to take it all away from you to give to the poor? There should be programs put into place that allot the money to those who REALLY need it, and not to those who take advantage of the system by being lazy and thinking people owe them something. All these social programs that are in place were a great idea at the time, but they're being horribly abused - and they're definitely not the kind of programs that can fix the problems we're facing today.

My friend Phil had a great idea. The government should offer an incentive to companies to build in poorer areas so that the people who are truly struggling to make ends meet have someplace to work and get paid well enough so they can set some of that money aside. It's all a great idea... but I guess I'm also pessimistic or jaded towards a lot of people. Being a sociologist, I shouldn't be... but I've seen how people can be.

There's Jack and Joe. Jack works hard to put food on the table but barely makes enough money to set anything aside. He has unexpected bills that come up and take what little he may have left over. He's stuck in a bad situation no matter how hard he tries to better his and his family's life. Then there's Joe. Joe sits on his ass all day. Whatever money he gets from the government, he uses to buy crack and weed. He's living it up at home watching reruns of Jerry Springer, listening to crap on the radio, and only gets off his ass to go buy himself some Burger King.

And here we are... having utilized the resources available to us to make it through college - just to end up working a job a high school graduate could do - and being taxed out the wazoo by the government so people like Joe can sit around and smoke it up all day. Now, I wouldn't mind helping out the Jacks of the world, but the Joes? Seriously now.

My mom has a cousin who is on disability because he hurt his feet 40 years ago in Vietnam. The man isn't well enough to work, but he's well enough to travel the world and live off my dime doing so?? Where is the justice in that? Disability should be a temporary fix for people like him. It should only be a permanent fix for people who are... say... blind or handicapped or suffering from liver cancer.

I could go on, but I'm so sick and tired of the US government and all the political bullshit that I'm just going to end it here.

On to other matters....

We finally picked out an invitation. Now we just have to make sure our ducks are all lined up in a row before we print them off and mail them out. I chose a gray invitation with white hearts on it. The lettering will be done in the same red that's on my wedding dress. And at the bottom of the invitation it says, "It takes two hearts to create one love." I thought that was pretty spiffy.

Enough about that.. time to get back to work so I can head home early today. YAY. It's FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss