I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

I love my new Mac computer!!!
Monday, Feb. 09, 2009 10:42 AM

"Don't go around saying the world owes you a living. The world owes you nothing. It was here first." - Mark Twain

Well, we made it through the New Year. And once again, I haven't been updating my diary like I should be. Have you ever gone through periods in your life where you just haven't felt like writing a thing? It has nothing to do with a muse being on vacation. It's more like a need to take a break from certain things in your life.

My notoriously terrible Dell computer was on the fritz once again, and it pissed me off enough to stay away from the computer at home for awhile. The computer is only 2 years old at the most... maybe 3... and it up and died on me. I HATE DELL! I will never buy another Dell as long as I live. I will boycott Dell products, and I will never recommend a Dell computer to anybody, no matter how much money they wish to save by buying a cheap ass product. I'm tempted to call Dell up just to bitch and complain about their product, but knowing Dell... I'll be on the phone with someone in another country who barely speaks a lick of English and just wants to charge me for them servicing my needs. I SO hate Dell.

So, we bought a brand spanking new Mac computer... and I LOVE IT! I love the graphics. I love the feel of the keyboard. It's so slick and smooth, and it doesn't hurt my wrists like PC keyboards do. I love that there's no humongous hard drive taking up space. I love that there's barely any wires annoying the piss out of me. I love the mouse and how it just glides. Most of all, I love how the machine operates. It's going to take some getting used too since I'm so used to Windows, but I don't understand why everybody out there doesn't just buy a Mac. I swear to you it's more user friendly than a PC, and you don't have to worry about some stupid anti-virus program running in the background all the time messing things up... because guess what? Mac's don't get viruses!

The only issue we've had with the Mac so far is that JR smudges the screen with his fingers and gets the mouse a tad bit dirty. I keep telling him not to touch the screen and to wash his hands before using the computer, but he doesn't listen. We've limited his time on the computer to just an hour a day, and he's only allowed 2 hours on weekdays. This is another cool thing about the Mac. It is so much easier to set up parental controls. You can place time limits on there for kids accounts. You can actually block all websites except for the ones you allow (which you type up in a box). It already has some suggestions for you like Discovery Kids and Scholastic. He's tried to access Google numerous times but it won't let him. And there's a really cool way to check out what websites he does visit, and which ones he's tried to visit. I love being in so much control of his computer time. I wonder if it's giving me a power complex.

Sometimes I fear I have a power complex over him. I'm always correcting his grammar, telling him to clean up his toys, and nagging him about keeping his room clean. Kent says I'm just being a parent, but I can't help but feel like I'm being the evil step-mother sometimes. Carrie, who has a step-mother, tells me I'm not hard enough on him. It's just hard. I mean, he hates women (because of his mom), and he has a lot of issues. Or he did. He seems to be settling down a lot, but there are times I'm afraid he's going to blow a gasket and show his true colors. Maybe I'm worrying over nothing.

Anyhow, time to get to work.

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss