I once had a life, or rather, life had me. I was one among many or at least I seemed to be....


Previous Current Next Archives Host Profile Notes

Time Will Tell
Wednesday, Jul. 17, 2013 9:47 AM

�In a democracy the people choose a leader in whom they trust. Then the chosen leader says, 'Now shut up and obey me.' People and party are then no longer free to interfere in his business.� ― Max Weber, From Max Weber: Essays in Sociology

It's been one week and 3 days and I've woken up by 8:30 every morning and made it to work by 9:30. This is a record for me, given the fact that I used to be so exhausted all the time. It feels really strange to wake up and be on everybody else's schedule and time frame. It actually makes me feel good, and I know it makes my dad real happy. There's just one problem. I'm almost caught up with all my work, which means I have absolutely nothing to do. How is this a problem? Well, having something to do makes the day go by faster and gives me a sense of accomplishment; whereas, with nothing to do, all I do is sit here and feel like yawning from boredom.

My swelling has stayed down for the most part, too. Sometimes it comes back, but not as bad as it was. I can move around without being in pain and I don't constantly feel like I have pins and needles poking me all over, either. The best part is when I brush my hair or wash it. It doesn't come out in clumps anymore. This must mean the Synthroid is working so much better than the levothyroxin ever did. The iron pills make me a bit sick to my stomach with or without food, but I notice if I don't take them I have problems breathing due to the anemia not allowing in enough oxygen. Today I'm testing out only taking one at a time instead of both at once and so far I'm okay. Last Wednesday was so bad, I literally threw up a total of ten times in a row from the nausea they caused. Yes, I counted. The only thing I'm worried about is the reason why I have anemia. It seems the progesterone isn't working. I see the doctor again next Thursday so hopefully we figure this out and get it fixed. Until then, I'm just going to continue taking the pills as prescribed.

My brother is on his way to Portland, Oregon now. The whole family met up with him in Lawrence on Sunday as he drove through Kansas. We went to Free State Brewery where the siblings and their spouses knocked back a bunch of beer and I was pushed to drink two glasses of red wine. Not my first choice, but it seems Free State doesn't have a full bar and I can't stand beer. Either way, my parents seemed thrilled that I cut loose and drank with them. Who knew drinking alcohol would make a parent proud? Where was Kent in all of this? At home, of course. I never invite him to anything anymore. Even if I did, he wouldn't go. It really is like living with a roommate, which is fine by me. He does the laundry, cooking, and half the cleaning. Plus, he goes to the store and makes sure the cats are fed. All I really have to do is pay the majority of the bills - which I would have been doing on my own anyway.

We had a small family meeting on Sunday and it was decided that we'd all go to Colorado over Thanksgiving week. Then in May of next year, we'll all hit Weir's Beach in New Hampshire for Jenny's 40th birthday. Angie's trying very hard to convince my dad to take us all to Scotland for her 40th, which is in 2015. Mine's not until 2017 - but how do you go from Weir's Beach to Scotland and then on to something even better? What's better than a free trip to Europe with the entire family? That is, if it actually happens. It's not like my parents are made of a lot of money and that would be an expensive trip for 15 people. We can all dream, though. Dreaming is good.

Other than that, not much is happening in my life at the moment. I haven't spoken to my grandma since she went all psycho on me. We did find out from Patty that she wasn't taking her pills or eating, but I don't think doing both of those would have stopped her paranoid schizophrenia type behavior. God, I really hope I don't end up like that when I hit my 80's. I'm really scared of that now. Here's to hoping my dad's genes win out on this one. And my poor mom! I hope she didn't inherit this, either. As my dad would say to me, as he often does, "time will tell."

In 19 Seconds

Last Five Entries:

Life Update - Tuesday, May. 21, 2019
I had an epiphany! - Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2019
2019 Resolutions - Wednesday, Jan. 09, 2019
To New Beginnings - Tuesday, Jan. 08, 2019
My Christmas Weekend 2018 - Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2018


Other Diaries:

candikurlz | catsoul | cocoabean | curious-me
illusionless | kenny-loo | musikoid | poetinthesky
starkitten01 | Zenayda | jnw77 <-- My old Diary


You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.
You can steer yourself any direction you choose.
You're on your own. And you know what you know.
And YOU are the one who'll decide where to go...

- Dr. Seuss